A free afternoon in Darmstadt

Friday, 22 January 2016

We finished work around 1 o’clock, and it was a sunny day, so I went wandering.

Route.jpg

IMG_0859

Friend Paul had told me about a 1:4 scale Lok at the Hauptbahnhof, so I went over to have a look. There is a slot where you can insert E0.50 and it actually runs for a while. I was tempted, but the reflections from the plexiglas shell were so distracting that I didn’t think a video would be worthwhile.

IMG_0901

I next found myself in a large park associated with the old Schloss. Very nice, although of course sleeping through the winter.

IMG_0924

IMG_0931

This is a section of the old city wall.

IMG_0945

“I assure you, I am better than my reputation!”

Nice place, but I’m ready for home. I hope the knock-on effects of the US east coast weather problems don’t affect my flight to SFO.

About 86dave

World traveler, mostly first and second world Outdoors: hiker, cyclist, photographer Libertarian Author, Gigabit-capable Passive Optical Networks, Wiley, 2012
This entry was posted in Civilization. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

